Senate

The Legislative Branch of Student government is the Student Senate. The purpose of the Senate is to represent the views and ideas of the 19,000+ students here at the University of Connecticut.

The Senate is composed of over 57 senators, each serving a one-year term. Every student at UConn is represented by multiple senators. The Residential and Commuter represent students by their geographic living areas on or off campus. The Academic senators represent academic colleges. Residential and Commuter seats are elected each fall, and academic seats are elected each Spring. Additionally, there are also Multicultural and Diversity Senators that are elected at large.

Senate meetings are held every other Wednesday evening virtually at 6:30 pm. All meetings are open to the public. Students are encouraged to attend, and may express concerns during Public Comment. If you wish to speak during public comment, please email the Speaker at represent@usg.uconn.edu.This time is specifically designed as an open forum for students to address the senators who represent them, or to speak to the body as a whole. Administrators and other public university officials are encouraged to attend Senate when decisions by their departments will affect students.

Senators

Academic Senators

Irene Soteriou

CLAS Senator, Speaker of the Senate

represent@usg.uconn.edu

Athanasios Montemarano

CLAS Senator

athanasios.montemarano@uconn.edu

Jnanasravanthi Athina

Engineering Senator

jnanasravanthi.athina@uconn.edu

Likhitadevi Athina

Engineering Senator

likhitadevi.athina@uconn.edu

Aryan Naik

CLAS Senator

aryan.naik@uconn.edu

Braden Migneault

CLAS Senator

braden.migneault@uconn.edu

Residential Senators

Aidan Toland

Alumni Senator

Benjamin Keilty

Buckley/Shippee Senator

benjamin.keilty@uconn.edu

Darren Mack

Alumni Senator, Parliamentarian

parliamentarian@usg.uconn.edu

Peter Spinelli

Buckley/Shippee Senator

peter.spinelli@uconn.edu

Adith Velavan

Busby Senator

adith.velavan@uconn.edu

Kavya Ganugapati

Commuter Senator

kavya.ganugapati@uconn.edu

Gunreet Grewal

Commuter Senator

gunreet.grewal@uconn.edu

Anissa Jahaj

Commuter Senator

anissa.jahaj@uconn.edu

Joshua Resnick

Commuter Senator

joshua.resnick@uconn.edu

John Ross

Commuter Senator

john.p.ross@uconn.edu

Nicolas Whelan

Commuter Senator

nicolas.whelan@uconn.edu

Edward Zelikman

Commuter Senator

edward.zelikman@uconn.edu

Austin Eichelberg

Northwood Senator

austin.eichelberg@uconn.edu

Jithu Sajeevan

Towers Senator

jithu.sajeevan@uconn.edu

RJ Streater

Werth Tower Senator

reginald.streater@uconn.edu

Marissa White

Werth Tower Senator

marissa.white@uconn.edu

Multicultural & Diversity Senators

Neha Kataria

Multicultural &
Diversity Senator

parliamentarian@usg.uconn.edu

Ex Officio Senators

Ben Albee

UConnPIRG Ex Officio

benjamin.albee@uconn.edu

Cal Benitix

Rainbow Center Ex Officio

cal.benitex@uconn.edu

Zoe Blevins

NACP Ex Officio

zoe.blevins@uconn.edu

Abbey Engler

Diversability Ex Officio

abbey.engler@uconn.edu

Olivia Sappington

Student Athletic Advisory Committee Ex Officio

olivia.sappington@uconn.edu

Klaudia Spahiu

Panhellenic Council Ex Officio

klaudia.spahiu@uconn.edu

Kamya Trivedi

Women's Center Ex Officio

Kamya.Trivedi@uconn.edu